The Provincial Council of Alicante, through the Foundation of the ADDA Auditorium, wanted to join this project around the guitar, to schedule seven concerts between January and June 2018 with the participation of the teachers of the Master. The seven concerts form the VI Classical Guitar Series of Alicante and undoubtedly, given the extraordinary quality of the performers, constitute an international event of the highest level in the world of classical guitar. After the great success of the five editions, we encouraged all Alicante citizens and visitors to participate in the sixth guitar serie at the ADDA.

As every year we will begin the guitar serie with a classical guitar concert by Scottish guitarist based in Spain David Russell, works by S.L. Weiss, E, Grieg, J.S.Bach, M. Dunne and a selection of Celtic music.

The second concert will be a recital by Viola de Gamba, Jordi Savall and Toirba / Guitar, Xavier Díaz Latorre, entitled Folias & Romanescas.  Works by Diego Ortiz, Tobias Hume, Gaspar Sanz, Marin Marais, Alfonso Ferrabosco, Robert de Visée and Mr. From Machy. It is the first time that Jordi Savall visits this guitar serie.

The third concert will be a classical guitar recital by the English guitarist Paul Galbraith. Works by J.S. Bach, A. Scriabin, I. Albéniz and F.J. Haydn

The  Assad brothers  Sérgio and Odair, will be the duo parteners of the fourth concert.

The fifth concert will be performed by the Spanish guitarist Ricardo Gallén, with a repertoire of music by Flores Chaviano, Bach, Ponce and Brouwer. It is the first time that he offers a concert in this guitar serie and a course course in the guitar master degree.

The sixth concert will be in charge of the Cuban guitarist based in Baltimore, United States, Manuel Barrueco, one of the essentials of the guitar master degree. Works by Luis de Milán, Nin-Culmell, Bach, Sor and Albéniz.

The flamenco guitarist Niño Josele will close this guitar serie. We hope to repeat the success of last year’s flamenco guitar recital.

Ticket Sales. 2018 Guitar Serie

You can buy tickets online at: Instanticket

David Russell Programme

S.L. WEISS (1686-1750) – SUITE
Preludio, Allemande, Courente Royale, Tombeau y Allegro

Danza noruega, Elegía, Vals, Melodía Popular, Vals, Canción de cuna y Melodía noruega



M. DUNNE (1959) LANDMARKS (dedicado a David Russell)
Camilliola, Canción, Reel Variations


Jordi Savall & Xavier Díaz Latorre Programme


Diego Ortiz (ca. 1510 – ca. 1570) Folias & Romanescas
Folia – Passamezzo antico, Passamezzo moderno I – Ruggiero, Romanesca – Passamezzo moderno II

Tobias Hume  (ca. 1569-1645)  Musicall Humors
A Souldiers March – Harke, harke  Good againe – A Souldiers Resolution

Gaspar Sanz  (s. XVII) Peces per la Guitarra
Jácaras – Canarios

Marin Marais (1656-1728) Pièces de Viole
Prélude – Muzettes I & II – La Sautillante


Alfonso Ferrabosco(1578-1628) Lessons to the Lyra-Viol
Coranto – Whay not here – La Cloche

Robert de Visée (s. XVII) Música per la Tiorba

Mr. De Machy (fl.1665-1692) Pièces de Viole
Prélude en Re

Marin Marais
Les Voix Humaines – Couplets des Folies d’Espagne

Jordi Savall: Viola de gamba baja de 7 cuerdas de Barak Norman, Londres 1697
Xavier Díaz-Latorre: Tiorba & guitarra

Paul Galbraith Programme

J.S. BACH (1685–1750) French Suite No. 2 in C minor (trans Em) BWV 813
Allemande, Courante, Sarabande, Menuet, Gigue

A. SCRIABIN (1872–1915)
Prelude, Op. 2, No. 2 – Prelude, Op. 16, No. 4 – Prelude, Op. 11, No. 17 –
Prelude, Op. 11, No. 21

I. ALBÉNIZ (1860–1909)
Torre Bermeja
Mallorca, Op. 202
Sevilla, from Suite Española

F.J. HAYDN (1732–1809) Sonata in C#m (trans. Em), Hob.XVI: 36
Moderato; Scherzando; Menuet & Trio
Sonata in E, Hob.XVI: 31

Ricardo Gallén Programme

Flores Chaviano – Sonata
Evocación y Boceto

J.S. Bach – Sonata BWV 1003 
Grave – Fuga – Andante – Allegro

M.M. Ponce – Sonatina Meridional 
Campo – Copla – Fiesta

Leo Brouwer-Danzas Rituales y Festivas 
Danza de los Altos Cerros – Habanera Trunca – Guajira (a Ricardo Gallén) – Danza de los Ancestros – Glosas Camperas – Tango Matrero

Manuel Barrueco Programme

 Luis de Milán (c. 1500-c. 1561)
Seis Pavanas

Joaquín Nin-Culmell (1908-2004)
Seis variaciones sobre un tema de Luis Milán

J. S. Bach (1685-1750) Sonata in G Minor, BWV 1001
Adagio – Fuga (Trans. M. Barrueco) – Siciliana – Presto

Fernando Sor (1778-1839)
Sonata in C Major, op. 15(b)
Introduction and Variations on the Air “Malbroug,” op. 28

Isaac Albéniz (1860-1909) – Suite Española, op. 47